We've updated our Terms of Use. You can review the changes here.

The Eighteen Minute Gap

by Sonmi451

supported by
Juniperus Kaizuka
Juniperus Kaizuka thumbnail
Juniperus Kaizuka Bernard’s idyllic sonic sculpting hits the mark on this beautiful release. The tasteful interplay of field recordings, melody and rhythm paint a cheerful and calm atmosphere that is absolutely sublime. A standout in both artist and label catalogs.
TheSlowMusicMovement thumbnail
TheSlowMusicMovement So after a few days of sick leave it's time to get TSMM back into the music sharing game, and the new LP from the ever reliable Sonmi451 for the ever dependable laaps label, is the perfect palliative soundtrack. It's full of unworldly ambience, somehow sculpted from countless alien sound sources which have been synergised through obsessive sound design & lightness of touch & secured by tellurian electronic threads. A most welcome escape from the viral struggle.
  • Digital Album
    Streaming + Download

    Includes unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.
    Purchasable with gift card

      €6 EUR  or more

    You own this


  • Record/Vinyl + Digital Album

    • 12’’ yellow vinyl
    • Matt laminated outer sleeve + pantone on 300 gm paper
    • Hand numbered / Limited edition to 300 copies

    Includes unlimited streaming of The Eighteen Minute Gap via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.
    ships out within 3 days
    edition of 300  2 remaining
    Purchasable with gift card

      €17.50 EUR or more 

    You own this  


  • Full Digital Discography Full Digital Discography

    Get all 30 laaps releases available on Bandcamp and save 60%.

    Includes unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality downloads of Serendipity, The Eighteen Minute Gap, Considerable, Diagenesis, Like Floating Leaves, Sinter, 438Hz As It Is, As You Are [あるがまま、あなたのままに], Of No Such Place, and 22 more. , and , .

    Purchasable with gift card

      €72 EUR or more (60% OFF)

    You own this


  • CD - 200 Limited Edition / hand-numbered & sealed
    Compact Disc (CD) + Digital Album

    • Glass mastered CD
    • Digisleeve : white cardboard 300 gm
    • Outside : x 2 adhesive glossy paper
    • Inside : thick paper card + x 2 stickers
    • Hand numbered Limited edition to 200 copies, sealed (like old book)

    Includes unlimited streaming of The Eighteen Minute Gap via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.

    Sold Out

Angelglow 05:57
Micrografia 07:10
Hyperbole 06:25


03 Angelglow / 06 A Nice Little Quandary / 07 Painting The Lily /
are only on the CD/digital version.

LP tracklist:
A1 - Down The Primrose Path
A2 - The Eighteen Minute Gap
A3 - A Taste For Vicarious Pleasure
B1 - White Horses On The Waves
B2 - Micrografia
B3 - Hyperbole

laaps 029
season : summer
duration(s) : 38.08 mn (LP) / 59.13 mn (CD)

Since 2005, under the moniker Sonmi451 (a character from David Mitchell's novel "Cloud Atlas"), Bernard Zwijzen creating his own blend of minimal, soundscape-laden atmospheric electronics in Hasselt, Belgium.
He has been previously released on labels such as : U-Cover, Slaapwel Records, Time Released Sounds, Eilean Rec. and LAAPS. "The Eighteen Minute Gap" is his thirteenth releases.


The Eighteen Minute Gap lets you embark on a mysterious journey into a world of ethereal ambient music, where beautiful and soothing listening experiences await. Using field recordings and manipulating textures and sounds, Sonmi451 creates minimal yet tantalizing soundscapes, filled with intimate whispering voices.

Sonmi451 uses various soft- and hardware synths and samplers to create a truly unique and immersive audio experience where one is captivated by mystery and intrigue and immersed in a world of mysterious sounds where boundaries between reality and imagination begin to blur. 



released July 13, 2023


All tracks written and produced by Bernard Zwijzen / Sonmi451.

Equipment used:
Hardware synths: Moog Mother 32, Arturia Microfreak
Hardware samplers: Elektron Octatrack, Instruo Arbhar, Make Noise Morphagene.
Hardware effects: Hologram Microcosm, Happy Nerding FX
Software synths, samplers & effects: Various synths from Spitfire Audio, Applied Acoustics, Arturia and U-He; Samplers from Native instruments and Max MSP; Effects from Valhalla, Soundtoys and Sonosaurus


Mastered by Taylor Deupree (12k)
Artwork by Maia Flore / Atout France (La Siesta, Argelès 2016)
Design by Sprflxgrfzm


℗ & © 2 0 2 3 - l a a p s 0 2 9 ( s e q 0 4 )



all rights reserved



laaps Brittany, France


each release start with the end of the previous one.
in sound and visually.
an exquisite corpse with 100 releases which will make the loop.

contact / help

Contact laaps

Streaming and
Download help

Redeem code

Report this album or account